Newsroom

Downton Abbey-inspired Saga Delights Readers of Austen's Classic

Ginger Monette transports her readers to the past and gives them a front row seat to the unfolding of a riveting but clean romance.

Fans of Downton Abbey and Pride & Prejudice are delighting in a new Downton Abbey-inspired novel series that transports Jane Austen's iconic Fitzwilliam Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet into the era of Lady Mary Crawley and WW1. 

Inspired by Matthew Crawley's time on the Western Front, Darcy's Hope ~ Beauty from Ashes sets the beloved Darcy and Elizabeth at a Belgian field hospital where readers watch the couple's tender love unfold as they learn to work together and reconcile their differences amidst the intrigue of a conspiracy plot.

 

Darcy's Hope at Donwell Abbey takes it's cues from Downton Abbey's time as a military hospital. When a battlefield tragedy leaves Darcy in a dark and silent world, he's sent to Donwell Abbey to recover. At this ancestral home of his cousin George Knightley (another one of Austen's characters), his very special “nurse” teaches him how to live and love again.

 

Clearly Amazon readers are enthralled with the novels as both books have received stellar reviews. In reviewing Beauty from Ashes Austenesque reviewer Meredith Esparza said, "...Ms. Monette has crafted an exceptionally moving story complete with a compelling plot, danger, mystery, action, introspection, vivid detail, and an emotionally wrought romance.” In summing up Donwell Abbey she stated, "[It] is just as well-written, action-packed, and emotionally turbulent as the first book. And once again, I found Ginger Monette’s premise and execution to be masterful."

When asked what inspired author Ginger Monette to reframe Austen’s classic in a Great War setting, she replied, “I realized that the culture of Edwardian England was not that much different from Austen's Regency Era. Fitzwilliam Darcy could have dined with the Crawleys of Downton Abbey with little change in decorum. The drama and uncertainty of war seemed a fitting setting for two characters famous for their 'explosive' relationship.”

For avid fans of Pride & Prejudice and Downton Abbey, the Darcy's Hope saga is sure to satisfy their desire for drama, suspense, and most of all romance. 

For a full book description of Darcy's Hope ~ Beauty from Ashes and Darcy's Hope at Donwell Abbey visit Amazon, other fine retailers, or visit GingerMonette.com. A book trailer for Beauty from Ashes is posted on the sidebar.